Like what you hear? Fancy having a go yourself? Get in touch via our Twitter site @fusiononair

Friday, 18 April 2014

The Hope & Anchor Front Row Festival 1978

Album review from the NME dated March 4th 1978: ..."an accurate documentation of the most interesting year the '70s have so far offered." Don't think I can argue with that! Just got to find a copy now... off to eBay!

Track listing:
A1 Wilko Johnson Band - Dr. Feelgood 2:43
A2   The Stranglers - Straighten Out 2:58
A3 Tyla Gang - Styrofoam 2:04
A4 The Pirates - Don't M√ľnchen It 3:26
A5 Steve Gibbons Band - Speed Kills 3:30
A6   XTC - I'm Bugged 4:22
A7   Suburban Studs - I Hate School 2:37
B1 The Pleasers - Billy 1:59
B2   XTC - Science Friction 2:45
B3 Dire Straits - Eastbound Train 3:25
B4 Burlesque - Bizz Fizz 5:00
B5   X-Ray-Spex - Let's Submerge 3:02
B6   999 - Crazy 3:18
C1   The Saints - Demolition Girl 3:45
C2   999 - Quite Disappointing 2:00
C3 The Only Ones - Creatures Of Doom 3:18
C4 The Pirates - Gibson Martin Fender 3:26
C5 Steel Pulse - Sound Check 3:41
C6 Roogalator - Zero Hero 3:43
D1 Philip Rambow - Underground Romance 5:45
D2 The Pleasers - Rock & Roll Radio 2:29
D3 Tyla Gang - On The Street 3:00
D4 Steve Gibbons Band - Johnny Cool 3:29
D5 Wilko Johnson Band - Twenty Yards Behind 2:03
D6   The Stranglers - Hanging Around 4:16

Thursday, 27 March 2014

Fusion recommends...

Going Back Home - Wilko Johnson & Roger Daltrey

Recorded in November 2013 the album features 11 tracks - 10 Wilko originals plus a cover of Bob Dylan's Can You Please Crawl Out Your Window

The full track listing is:
1. Going Back Home
2. Ice On The Motorway
3. I Keep It To Myself
4. Can You Please Crawl Out Your Window
5. Turned 21
6. Keep On Loving You
7. Some Kind Of Hero
8. Sneaking Suspicion
9. Keep It Out Of Sight
10. Everybody's Carrying A Gun
11. All Through The City

Further details can be found on Wilko's website and the album is available on vinyl for those of us 'of a certain age'!

Without fail every Fusion contributor who has had a listen so far has given it a resounding thumbs up. The Doc summed it up perfectly for us: "Going Back Home is a fitting final chapter for Wilko; his guitar and Rog's vocals meld really well, top notch Rhythm & Blues!!" Highly recommended.

Friday, 21 March 2014

A trip down Memory Lane #1

One of our occasional Fusion contributors has splashed out on a pile of old music papers from 1978-81. Flicking through the top of the pile reminded us what a wonderful time that was for music. We're going to blog extracts from the papers as we get them scanned. 

Hope you enjoy the trip down Memory Lane - here's a gig review from Melody Maker 2nd June 1979. What we'd give for the chance to see this line up today!